More migrants

I finished work early today to go for a walk, despite the weather forecast threatening heavy showers this afternoon (which, apart from a few drizzly moments, never materialised).

The first thing I spotted was before I even started – my second batch of swifts of the year out of the tram window, with at least twenty wheeling above between Shalesmoor and Langsett Primrose Hill tram stops. There were also three swallows flitting around.

I caught a bus out to Oughtibridge and walked through Wharncliffe Woods and onwards to Deepcar. There wasn’t too much to see, to be honest, but I fear I meandered down the less interesting footpaths and will have another wander round there at an earlier time of day before the end of the breeding season. I did, however, hear by first whitethroats of the year, and the unmistakable song of a cuckoo near Wharncliffe Heath. I’ll definitely be back there to try and catch a glimpse!