New Patch

Sorry I’ve been quiet of late, I’ve got through the other side of house-moving, and have already had a couple of trips down to my new local patches of Greno Woods, Wheata Woods, Wharncliffe Wood and Wharncliffe Chase. I’m not sure exactly where I’m going to set my patch “boundaries”, but I’ll have a clearer idea after a few more explores!

My first trip was a foggy one, but here’s a couple of pictures. You get the idea…

Wheata Wood

Wharncliffe Chase

November’s probably not the best part of the year to get cracking on a patch, but I’ve got faith this is going to be cracking, especially in spring when redstart, cuckoo, wood warbler and tree pipit are among the birds on show. So far the highlights have been nuthatch, treecreeper, goldcrest and siskin, but I’m sure there’s plenty of other good stuff lurking around when I’ve got more time for a bigger wander…

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

