Lesser Spotted, spotted.

I’ve just had a quick look at Beeley Wood, and was lucky to very quickly stumble upon a tit flock containing a lesser spotted woodpecker, not far from the Beeley Wood Lane entrance of the wood. A beautiful bird – sadly it wouldn’t stay still or near enough for a decent photo, and this is the best I could come up with…

Lesser Spotted Woodpecker (record shot!)

Crap photo, great bird! Also around were a couple of nuthatches and at least one treecreeper.

EDIT – The SBSG website is reporting a chuffin’ BITTERN at Old Wheel Dam this morning! A lesson there – I really should get out of bed and work my patch a bit more often, shouldn’t I?!

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

One thought on “Lesser Spotted, spotted.”

  1. Love it, I was lucky enough to have a lesser spotted woodpecker in my Sheffield garden a few weeks backs, stayed on and off for about 30 minutes, visiting the suet feeders and my apple tree

Leave a Reply

