Deer on the patch

Sorry it’s taken me so long to post this, I just wanted to post these online a bit to check my ID…

I had a bit of a yomp round the patch on Sunday, and extended the usual walk through Beacon Wood. The recent downpours had left the paths very muddy, despite the fact it was a sunny day, and I came across these prints which I’m going to ID (unless someone tells me otherwise) as roe deer. A new mammal for the patch!
 

(I’m not actually sure how I managed such ropey pictures of things that weren’t moving!)

Elsewhere a gorgeous kingfisher was reflecting the sunshine at Old Wheel Dam, grey wagtails and dippers were near both Olive Dam and the Fisheries, and several garden warblers were singing.

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

