Migrants on patch!

This morning started well with a singing blackcap near the house on my way to work, the first on my patch this year.

After work I had a bit of a walk through the Valley, and at Old Wheel Dam came across the brilliant sight of at least 8 swallows skimming across the water. Not far on I heard some tentative singing from two willow warblers, with one showing fairly well in the treetops, again a patch first this year.

Elsewhere two green woodpeckers were yaffling near the Fisheries, but annoying staying out of sight, 130+ woodpigeons were feeding in the fields, with 13 stock doves among them, and 2 curlews were in one of the fields near Old Wheel Farm.

A bit gloomy this evening, so no photos sadly – I tried to snap the curlews, but the result, even for my record shot standards!

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

