Happy New Year!

Happy New Year, everyone. I must admit today’s been pretty low on the wildlife-spotting front, due to the inevitable hangover and the fact I didn’t scrape myself out of bed until nearly midday.

The 2009 list has been started, with something of a whimper, with garden observations and a quick walk round the Old Wheel area of the Loxley Valley bringing up just 23 species – all pretty common ones, the highlights being a kestrel at Old Wheel Dam and a small flock of fieldfare on Loxley Road. There’s plenty of time to get more! Sadly I didn’t manage the little owl I was hoping for the bird race, which means my grand (ahem) total for that is 77. Full post on that coming soon!

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

