Flycatchers

This morning I had a walk round Agden Reservoir, with a specific aim of finding pied flycatchers. I failed miserably at this, but did catch up with their spotted cousins. The first ones I saw were a pair on Smallfield Lane, near Low Bradfield. They’re really photogenic birds due to their habit of returning to the same perch they took off from, and all you have to do is point at where you last saw them and they’ll more than likely return.

Spotted Flycatcher

At Agden Reservoir, there was another spotted flycatcher to be found, along with two common sandpipers, a great spotted woodpecker and several treecreepers, nuthatches, coal tits and the usual suspects.

Nuthatch

I walked up Agden Side after this, and there wasn’t too much to see, except for the usual tree pipits singing away, and a single redstart. At Rocher Head there was a kestrel and a green woodpecker yaffling in the distance, but that was about it.

On the way back, the spotted flycatchers were still on Smallfield Lane, and I couldn’t resist another shot for good measure. Seems like a reliable spot to find them!

Spotted Flycatcher

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

2 thoughts on “Flycatchers”

  1. I haven’t been to your blog for a couple of weeks because of other commitments, but let me say I am impressed with your redesign. It makes your blog look much better and the higher res photos look great.

    Rich.

  2. Cheers, Rich! I think I’ve finally found a WordPress Theme I’m happy with, and hopefully the blog will be a lot more visual from now on now I’ve actually got a decent camera!

    Thanks again for your comments,

    Pete

Leave a Reply

