First Old Moor trip of the year

I had a good trip to Old Moor today. It was a nice cold but sunny day, with much to see. Sadly I didn’t get a glimpse of the wintering bittern they’ve got there at the moment, but I saw plenty to make up for it. The birdfeeder hide was probably the best I’ve seen it today, with a willow tit spending a lot of time on the feeders, a few siskins, and a pair of bullfinches, at various parts of the day. Wintering ducks included goosander, goldeneye, shoveler and teal, and there was the usual winter flocks of golden plover and lapwing.

I had little competition with myself to see if I could see fifty species in one day, and sadly only reached 45, but not bad going, especially as I somehow managed to “dip” such commonly seen birds as woodpigeon, great crested grebe, wren and long-tailed tit!

On the way home I realised how once you start birdwatching, it can liven up boring moments of your life. Waiting for the train at Wombwell station, I decided to see how many birds I could see or hear during my wait. Even as the sun was setting, I managed eight in about 10 minutes. Best of all, a small flock of redwings were eating the berries from a tree. Is it me or are they more common this year?

Anyway, as always here’s a summary of what I’ve seen at Old Moor today (yearlisters in bold)…

Golden Plover, Lapwing, Tufted Duck, Gadwall, Tree Sparrow, Coot, Collared Dove, Black-headed Gull, Carrion Crow, Chaffinch, Mute Swan, Willow Tit, Greenfinch, Great Tit, Blue Tit, Blackbird, Goldfinch, Dunnock, Moorhen, Magpie, Mallard, Grey Heron, Cormorant, Wigeon, Stock Dove, Redshank, Feral Pigeon, Common Gull, Canada Goose, Starling, Goosander, Robin, Dunlin, Jackdaw, Teal, Pheasant, Pied Wagtail, Ruddy Duck, Shoveler, Goldeneye, Siskin, Linnet, Snipe, Bullfinch [plus Redwing, Woodpigeon and Long-tailed Tit at Wombwell Station].

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

2 thoughts on “First Old Moor trip of the year”

Leave a Reply

