A welcome visitor

Last night, as I was locking up and switching off lights before bed, I saw some movement at the top of the garden. I presumed it was probably a cat, but hung around, squinting into the darkness, on the off chance it was a fox.

Just as I was giving up, I caught a flash of white out of the corner of my eye, and noticed a large badger feeding from the fallen fruit under our plum tree! This was the first sighting of a live badger I’ve had in my entire life, and not something I ever expected to see looking out of my kitchen window. After a bit of foraging, it sloped up the steps, and out of sight. I watched for a while and sadly it didn’t return, but it makes me wonder how many times I’ve been sat in the living room watching crap telly while badgers have been frolicking in the garden.

According to Paul Morrison’s Mammals, Reptiles and Amphibians of Britain and Europe, badgers eat windfall apples and plums from around September, to help build up their fat reserves for the winter. Seeing as our garden is constantly under a blanket of juicy, purple plums at the moment, I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for return visits!

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

