Operation Avocet!

Yes, I have remembered the birding tasks I set myself earlier in the year, and today I took a brief trip to Blacktoft Sands RSPB to get one of the birds on the list – avocets.

To be honest, this was a pretty easy one. The first two hides had good amounts of black-tailed godwits, dunlins, ruffs and redshanks, but no signs of avocets. I was starting to wonder how easy they’d be to find, but I needn’t had feared as the third hide along had scores of them. And just as I focused my binoculars for a better look, they scattered, due to two marsh harriers swooping menacingly across the sky. Avocets and marsh harriers in the same field of view? Doesn’t get much better.

Watching for a while longer, I was lucky enough to see the marsh harriers acrobatically exchanging food midair, and a pair of avocets defending their fluffy chicks from herons and black-headed gulls which were keeping an ominous watch. I also got a great view of some reed warblers, a bird which doesn’t give great views very easily.

Sadly I missed out on some of Blacktoft’s other star attractions – bitterns and bearded tits – but I think the avocets and marsh harriers more than made up for it!

We had a brief trip to Hornsea afterwards too, and watched cormorants flying overhead, and common terns plunge diving into the sea.

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

5 thoughts on “Operation Avocet!”

  1. Friday 10th Aug at about 9.30pm. I saw what I believe to be a Nightjar silouetted briefly against the sky on the northern edge of the playing fields on Crimicar Lane, Sheffield. Anyone else seen Nightjar in this location which is close to housing.BH

Leave a Reply

