A fantastic day’s birding…

Today I had a day off work, as I went to Old Moor to discuss volunteering there. It looks like I’ll be helping out at some events, and I’m very much looking forward to it.

The birds today were absolutely fantastic. I was a bit early for my meeting, so I had a quick walk down the nearby Trans-Pennine trail which was alive with singing willow warblers and yellowhammers (how come you wait to see a bird all year and then you can’t stop seeing them?).

After the meeting, the birds came thick and fast, with beautiful plump bullfinches on the feeders, along with the usual tree sparrows, goldfinches, greenfinches, great tits, reed buntings etc. There were singing chiffchaffs and blackcaps, my first willow tit of the year, and more yellowhammers!

In the hides, I saw this year’s first swallow, some little ringed plovers, great views of snipe, and best of all a kingfisher, which sped across the water and which I was lucky to be pointing in the right direction to see.

It was such a good day that I completely effortlessly passed the “50 Old Moor birds in a day” target I set myself and failed to get the other week! Do you want me to list them? No? Well I am anyway…

Blackbird, Blackcap, Black-headed Gull, Blue Tit, Bullfinch, Canada Goose, Carrion Crow, Chaffinch, Chiffchaff, Coot, Collared Dove, Cormorant, Dunnock, Gadwall, Goldfinch, Great Crested Grebe, Great Tit, Greenfinch, Grey Heron, Greylag Goose, Jackdaw, Kingfisher, Lapwing, Linnet, Little Ringed Plover, Long-tailed Tit, Magpie, Mallard, Moorhen, Mute Swan, Oystercatcher, Pheasant, Pied Wagtail, Pochard, Redshank, Reed Bunting, Robin, Ruddy Duck, Shelduck, Shoveler, Skylark, Snipe, Song Thrush, Starling, Swallow, Teal, Tree Sparrow, Tufted Duck, Wigeon, Willow Tit, Willow Warbler, Woodpigeon, Wren, Yellowhammer

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

