Breeding Bird Survey

I got confirmation today that I’ll be taking part in the BTO’s Breeding Bird Survey. That means that from April to July I’ll have to visit my allocated 1km grid reference and count all the birds I see and hear on a series of walks there. Yes, I’m a little daunted as my counting and birdsong skills are lacking a certain something, but hopefully I can buff up on both before April arrives.

My grid reference is around the centre of here, which is Underbank Reservoir in Stocksbridge, not far from where I lived when I was living with my parents. A good range of habitats to search through!

In other news I got a widget for my scope this week that means I can comfortably attach a digital camera to it, and start having a go digiscoping. I’m under no illusions that the camera I’ve got and the scope I’ve got are a match made in photographical heaven, but I’ll post the results of my first experiments on here this weekend…

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

