A reservoir walk


I went on a good old walk yesterday, from Wharncliffe Side, and round More Hall and Broomhead Reservoirs.

First decent sighting of the day was my first fieldfare of the year, and walking through the More Hall Plantation, I was surrounded by small birds, including tits (blue, coal and great), treecreepers and nuthatches, as well as loads of squirrels.

I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t more to see on the reservoirs themselves – it was mainly feral ducks, mallards and every shade between. A couple of herons were stalking around, and there were three female goosander on Broomhead, which almost made up for the fact I was dragging my scope and tripod around with me.

What I was really wanting to see was some crossbills, I’ve read that they do live in the conifers in this area. Maybe next time.

Today’s full list:

Black-headed Gull, Blackbird, Blue Tit, Canada Goose, Carrion Crow, Chaffinch, Coal Tit, Collared Dove, Fieldfare, Goosander, Great Tit, Grey Heron, Jay, Long-tailed Tit, Magpie, Mallard, Nuthatch, Pied Wagtail, Robin, Rook, Treecreeper, Woodpigeon, Wren

Published by

Pete

My name is Pete

Leave a Reply

